Woot ! first day of spring!

Hi there,

Oh look, knobby trees. It’s the first day of spring but it sure does not feel anything like it.
Either way, I double – triple checked the hourly forecast for the day before wandering out without an umbrella and also… in my lighter coat.
It was a great sunny day… actually… can’t quite remember if it was a sunny day or not, but it was definitely nice out and about. Remembering that one of my friends requested for random shots of Bergen… I pottered about and snapped a few for story telling ๐Ÿ™‚

Easter is coming and the homeware stalls have really adorable items to be bought, i think it’s up there with my coconut turtle from fiji… ok… maybe my coco turtle trumps this by far XD There’s also awesome easter chocolate eggs and mazipan lollies that turn half price after Easter, I am staring at you, you little chocolate eggs!

IMG_20130301_211429[1]

These next few pics are of the Bergen city centre, kids love to wander about the stones in this area, i recall that it is also a water feature during the summer. I guess it’s a little too daring to have the water on during the start of spring, seeing how things are still freezing over XD This is just off Festplassen, where there’s a massive pond (?) that’s totally frozen over, some years when the ice is thick enough… you can even walk on the pond! I shall take some photos tomorrow of this pond, the greenery surrounding it is quite pretty… however, it can look sad during winter/start of spring ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_20130301_211510[1]IMG_20130301_211554[1]

IMG_20130301_211644[1]

The mountain you see in the distance up there takes about 45 minutes to walk, I have yet to test out that time, I need to get those walking shoes pronto! The other option isย  a nice little cable car ride up that costs… no free fare in Bergen!ย  That big stone is called the Blue stone (until i am told otherwise XDD). It’s a highly used meeting point ๐Ÿ™‚IMG_20130301_211740[1] IMG_20130301_211833[1]

Good old Henrik Ibsen statue by Nils Raa in 1981 chilling by Bergen’s main theatre ‘The Nationale Scene’. I’m not too sure why the 4 statues up on the staircase are painted all fluro, but yes, i like it!ย  This following pic shows a lonely lolly shop, it is also very close to the threatre and to the main cinema of Bergen, this lolly store gets much traffic when popcorn and frozen coke just does not cut it for movie goers X)IMG_20130301_211908[1]

Just lunching, mafia and lazing the friday away with international students and bergen locals. The rain and snow came soon after we walked into the cafe and its reign was over after the many hours we sat and willed away. I took two tries to order a chai latte at the counter, yay to taking baby steps! Jeg vil gjerne har en chai latte. Takk. What I got out of this outing was that I really need to work on my norwegian. Yay to classes next week! *Strums up courage to banish procrastination*IMG_20130301_212039[1] IMG_20130301_212134[1]

Quick Fact: I actually trained it all the way to Oslo and back just last weekend… and THE couch has arrived! I thought it was meant to look grey… but it’s brown… must be the yellow spotlights in the lounge. I have a bit to write, shall update with some more fluff soon!
See yas!

prat <3

